top of page
getting my life together journey (intro)  on We Heart It.jpeg
  • Writer's pictureJessie Leverzencie

On my shelf - #GIRLBOSS



I must be honest with myself and say that when I was in need of a good, gripping read, #GIRLBOSS was my answer. I usually judge a book by it first paragraph/ page...if its doesn´t grip me by then I don´t bother with the book. I know, I guess I have a harsh screening process, but I´m usually never dissapointed this way…


I bought #GIRLBOSS one day when on a break from campus. I took a Jammie Shuttle to Cavendish Mall and went walking around in Exclusive Books to kill a few hours. The Exclusive Books in Cavendish has to be one of my favourite spots, especially since the renovations done a few years back where the store´s setup and decor were changed, as well as a café section added. Anyway, I was scrolling through the books (in this modern and fun new setting), when I stumbled across a book I´d seen a blogger post about on Insta: Sophia Amoruso´s #GIRLBOSS. At the time I bought the book, soon after its publication, there was a lot of talk around it, so naturally I felt the need to join the conversation and splurge some money (from my tight student budget). I mean, if you think about it, anything worthwhile that you spend money on IS an ¨invest into your future.¨ And #GIRLBOSS was this investment, quite literally as I´ll elaborate on soon.



After reading the general blurb and (of course) the first paragraph, I was hooked. Amoruso´s story was going to give me the necessary boost of inspiration and oomph I needed! I won´t give too much away, but if you need a story of someone who literally started at the bottom and worked her way to the top, this is the one! Amoruso´s story will kick you off your butt and get you to start hustling towards the kind of future you want (at least that´s what it does for me). What´s also great about this read is that you can reread it over and over again and get something new from it each time...now if that´s not an investment than nothing is.


Jess x



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page