top of page
getting my life together journey (intro)  on We Heart It.jpeg
  • Writer's pictureJessie Leverzencie

Finding your happy




Happiness is such a relative concept isn´t it. It may seem like something that comes and goes based on moods, the environment you find yourself in, the people you´re with at a particular moment in time, or maybe for you it´s an ever fluctuating concept that feels like being on a rollercoaster.


Over the past three years, one of my personal goals was to find my own happiness and come to a place where it was less reliant on those around me, the guy I´m seeing or other environmental factors and more from a place where it radiated from within me as something steadier.


Now, this is a feat far easier said than and it´s not to say that I don´t have bad days or mood swings just like everyone else...it´s just that now I know that my happiness radiates from within and is less prone to being knocked about and altered by environmental factors. Life is rough and this world and life so turbulent. Its so easy to fall victim to taking on the emotions life forces on you. Happiness is a choice and every moment is a chance to choose to embrace it or to embrace a multitude of other, more negative emotions.


Happiness is not a step by step guide though, what I found really helps is investing in what makes your soul happy---whether it´s art, music, travel, sport or even getting up early to watch the sunrise...the list is endless, but investing in your passions are a sure fire way to invest in your overall happy-factor.


Taking care of yourself in all aspects of your life and being is also so important...whether emotional, spiritual, mental or physical...your level of care in all these factors should be fed and kept healthy for overall well being. For me, as a Christian, investing in my relationship with God is truly the best decision ever, He has been a lighthouse and has gotten me through the toughest of times, giving me true and lasting joy.


Gain some perspective! One flaw of the human condition is our tendency to look at life with microscopic vision. We get so caught up in the heaviness of the here and now and forget to put life into perspective. One of my favourite quotes is that ¨this too shall pass¨, knowing that a certain emotion is not your be-all end-all should (hopefully) increase your hope for a brighter future. (Once again this is FARRR easier said than done, but its NOT impossible). Society has created a certain image for what true happiness looks like, but that generic image is NOT a one-size-fits-all scenario. Find your version of happines and live it outrageously.


So, wherever you´re at in life right now, keep your chin up, choose happiness and live that reality, after all its a choice only you can make! :) :) :)


Jess xo


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page