top of page
getting my life together journey (intro)  on We Heart It.jpeg
  • Writer's pictureJessie Leverzencie

3 of my fave movies evaa! 🎬

Updated: Dec 1, 2019

I´m a film student so take it from me when I say that summing down my 3 favourite films was HARD to say the least!... But, for the sake of not having you sit here for an entire 24 hours (or more) I´ll sum it up...so here goes! (Also this is in no specific order ;p ).


1. Point Break:


I´m sure anyone with a love of the 90s, has a major jones for Keanu Reeves😍...I mean need I say more, cause ¨that would be a waste of time¨...



I´ve watched all of Keanu´s movies and I must say that this one is my absolute faves (also do yourself the favour and watch A Walk in the Clouds...its stunning!).


The synopsis:


Keanu Reeves and co-stars Patrick Swayze, Lori Petty and Gary Busey, bring to life the story of Johnny Utah (played by Reeves), a rookie cop who is investigating the mystery around bank robbers terrorising Los Angeles. His partner, longtime cop Angelo (played by Gary Busey), believes the robbers to be surfers who rob banks and spend the money on chasing summer around the globe (what a life!). Reeves then goes undercover as a surfer to try find the group responsible. Along the way he meets Bodhi aka Bodhisattva (played by Swayze) and the feisty Tyler (played by Lori Petty).



Reasons why I love this film:


Not only does it star one of my ALL TIME favourite actors, who happens to be an amazing human being (no honestly Keanu is the sweetest..check out this video), but also it is such a great snapshot into the beauty and soul behind surfing...how connected one can get to the ocean on a spiritual level and truly become one with nature.



- I´m not the biggest action movie lover myself, but Point Break is an absolute winner for me, as it has such a great balance between action scenes and really heartfelt, intimate moments.


- Being a fashion lover myself, I love getting snaps of the fashion worn back in the 90s, as well as life back in the late 20th Century.


Its a great look into the topic of integrity, much like Paul Walker and Vin Diesel in the Fast and the Furious... enemies become friends and one sometimes needs to choose between one´s integrity and humanity over one´s ´duty´/ profession.



Now, I´m not sure if I sold this well...but just give Point Break a watch, the movie will speak for itself!






2. Captain Corelli´s Mandolin:



One of the greatest love stories in my opinion! Captain Corelli´s Mandolin is one of the most underrated, yet utterly beautiful romances I´ve ever watched (and read).


The synopsis:


The film is an adaption of the famous novel by Louis de Bernières, and is a stunning look at the lives of Palagea (played by Penelope Cruz) and Antonio Corelli (played by Nicolas Cage), two star-crossed lovers who meet during World War II, when a division of the Italian army (of which Corelli is the captain) invade Palagea´s home, the Greek island of Cephalonia. Pelagia is engaged to be married to Mandras (a Greek boy she´ś known all her life, played by Christian Bale), yet when she meets Corelli, she falls head-over-heels and is mesmerised and enchanted by his lively, radiant nature and the tunes on his mandolin.



Why I love this film:


The film is, in my opinion one of the greatest romances...reason being is that it is not cliche like many romance novels and movies today. I love how old school it is, from letter writing, to wild flower picking and simple communication that is done without any technology. There is such a purity to it all, that reminds one of the heart bursting moments of infatuation, yet even more, it is a beautiful tale of the tender depth of feeling that goes far beyond that. I love how Pelagia´s father puts it, when he explains to her, the difference between falling in love and actually loving someone when all that infatuation fades away...



Love is a temporary madness, it erupts like volcanoes and then subsides. And when it subsides, you have to make a decision. You have to work out whether your roots have so entwined together that it is inconceivable that you should ever part.¨

- If you have ever wanted to visit Europe, specifically the Mediterranean, this movie will give you MAJOR wanderlust and you´ll want to book your ticket to Greece ASAP...


- The cast is absolutely wonderful, from their accents (specifically Christian Bale and Nicolas Cage) to the beautiful culture of Greece and Italy that are so well portrayed!


-The film is also such a great snapshot into womanhood and becoming a woman... I relate to her character on so many levels. I love how fiery she is and how she is busy figuring herself out, from what she wants out of life to what she wants out of love as well.


A MUST SEE!




3. Jurassic Park 1



I know...I know...Why Jurassic Park you will probably ask? Well, why the heck not Jurassic Park?!

I have always been such a nerd for the original Jurassic Park movie..the original, specifically.. and I´ll tell you why now...


The synopsis:


I have been watching Jurassic Park since I was a kid, so that means I have probably watched it around 50+ times...easily. ...lol maybe that´s an exaggeration, but defs more times than I´ve kept track of! So for you Jurassic Park virgins out there, here´s the low down:


Jurassic Park , originally a book series by Michael Crichton (and I do suggest you read these as they are AMAZING!), is the story about palaeontologist Dr Alan Grant (played by Sam Neill), and paleobotanist, Dr Ellie Satler (played by Laura Dern), who are approached by billionaire and sponsor of their archaeological digs, John Hammond. Hammond wants their expert opinion on a new biological park he has just built on an island off Costa Rica...one which he doesn´t divulge too much on, except to say that it´s right up their alley...


After being pursuaded, Grant and Satler set off, along with a lawyer Genaro (played by Martin Ferrero) and chaotician Dr Ian Malcolm (played by the legend that is Jeff Goldblum) to see what Hammond has cooked up.





Well, as you probably guessed, they arrive at Jurassic Park, a zoo/biological park that boasts genetically engineered dinosaurs, from triceratops to the terrifying velociraptor and T-Rex. Things soon go horribly wrong and its survive or be eaten!




Why I love this film to this day:


It´s very rare that a ´scary movie´ from the 20th century can scare modern day audiences...I mean we have CGI and 3D movies! Well Jurassic Park is one rare movie that still has the ability to scare audiences and keep us on the edges of our seats, despite its humble animatronic beginnings (BTW: animatronics is: the technique of making and operating lifelike robots, typically for use in film or other entertainment). The fact that Steven Spielberg and his team used mainly robotics and stunt men in dino suits amazes me!




The film is just plain awesome, rarely do I geek out like this, but I must say that Jurassic Park, its author, plotline, cast, directors and producers all did such a fantastic job...I will continue watching and rewatching this movie over and over for years to come.



SOOO I hope you´ve been inspired to check out these films, they are truly some of my absolute faves and I hope you´ll love them just as much as I do! Happy watching and thanks so much for reading!!


Jess xoxo








0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page