top of page
getting my life together journey (intro)  on We Heart It.jpeg
  • Writer's pictureJessie Leverzencie

Tanzania




To say that this past year has been an adventure would be saying the least. As with the approach of every new year, some self-reflection and reminiscing are in order (#standard). I look back at my growth and all of the blessings and amazing people I have shared my memories with and I am grateful to God for this life and every day we are given here on this blue planet! Reminiscing on all my memories, I have to say that one of the highlights of my year, was definitely my trip to Tanzania and the Comoros!


When I was asked to be a photographer aboard the SA Agulhas II, documenting the South African Department of Environmental Affairs´ scientific cruise up the West Coast of Africa, I was (as you can imagine) beyond stoked! This journey, not only meant meeting new people, but the chance to travel and practice one of my passions! The scientific trip was also dedicated to micro-plastics and its detrimental effects on our marine life and ocean ecosystems. How often do we forget to or are too lazy to recycle and how much of the litter lying around, do we actually realise ends up in the ocean (because all litter eventually negatively affects our environments or ends up in our oceans). What we litter comes full circle, with each animal up the food chain ingesting more and more micro-plastics. The animal at the top of the food chain, us, end up with a large amount of micro-plastics in our bodies when we ingest seafood. Call THAT karma a bitch. From learning about our marine life and our impact on it, to being able to travel, my trip was a true adventure and well-rounded experience.



Our first big stop was Dar Es Salaam, a bustling and vibrant city on the coast of Tanzania. After navigating the city, we took a ferry to a tourist beach called Bongoyo. For someone who hadn´t yet travelled before, I always thought that the crystal clear water of the tropics were somehow a trick of the eye, that couldn´t possibly be real...well, the best way I can describe Tanzanian water is like a crystal clear pool, warm as a bath. From snorkelling to a small wreck, to enjoying freshly caught crab in a beach-shack restaurant, Tanzania´s Bongoyo island was a such a treat! From Tanzania´s beauty, to its down to earth, humble population, its definitely a spot to visit!





Jessie x



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page